AGM Report 2004/2005

Venue: Wolfson Building, Oxford University

Date: 19 May 2005

Time: 19:35

Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from:

- Tim Lambertstock
- Adrian Walmsley

Minutes of Last Year's AGM

The notes of last years meeting had been published on the Branch web site. No comments had been received, and these were accepted as a true record of the event. Proposer: Tony Cox; Seconder: Geoff Stone

Chairman's Report

The Chairman highlighted the main achievements of the Branch in 2004/2005. These included:

- Eight excellent lecture meetings, including our annual trip, which this year was to the Large Objects Store of the Science Museum, Wroughton. These lectures are accredited under the CPD scheme with certificates provided at each meeting for members.
- Membership of the Oxfordshire Branch had increased to > 1000
- Our first joint meeting with the Oxford University Computer Society, where we had a lively debate on the merits of Open Source.
- Three Student Prizes had been initiated, funded by the BCS special projects fund
- Our web site had been extended to include a Wiki to facilitate greater involvement by the membership
- The BCS Oxon Schools' Web Competition was in full swing, and we had received entries from 28 schools, and judging was just about to start. Prize giving would take place in June, at Cranfield University.
- Thanks were extended to two committee members who were standing down this year: Ted Murphy, and Neill Lawson-Smith. Both had been invaluable to the committee and their contributions would be missed.
- The committee calendar for 2004/2005 looked like:
 - o 3 main committee meetings
 - o representation at two national congresses
 - o 5 web competition meetings

In addition, the outline planning for 2005/2006 had already started.

Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer presented the draft accounts, and these were duly accepted and passed by the members present. The Branch reserves stand at ~£6000. In future years the accounts will be prepared by HQ as part of the Centralised Accounting changes.

Election of Committee

All but two of the existing Branch Committee were willing to continue to serve for another year.

There had been one additional nomination for the Committee – Stef Coetzee (Propser: Geoff Stone; Seconder: Keith Diment) – who was duly elected to the committee. In summary the new committee consists of:

Committee Member	Nominator	Seconder
Adrian Walmsley	Neill Lawson Smith	Keith Diment
Sheila Lloyd Lyons	Neill Lawson Smith	Keith Diment
Brian Read	Neill Lawson Smith	Geoff Stone
Brian Day	Neill Lawson Smith	Keith Diment
Cheryl Griffiths	Rob Ward	Sheila Lloyd Lyons
Tim Lambertstock	Sheila Lloyd Lyons	Geoff Stone
Robert Ward	Neill Lawson Smith	Sheila Lloyd Lyons
Tony Cox	Sheila Lloyd Lyons	Neill Lawson Smith
Simon Marsh	Sheila Lloyd Lyons	Keith Diment
Geoff Stone	Neill Lawson Smith	Sheila Lloyd Lyons
Keith Diment	Rob Ward	Sheila Lloyd Lyons
Stef Coetzee	Geoff Stone	Keith Diment

The election of Officers and allocation of Committee responsibilities will be decided at the first meeting of the new committee on 26 May 2005.

AOB

The Chairman highlighted the career of Ted Murphy with the BCS Oxon Branch. He had been a founder member of the Branch, Chairman twice, Secretary, and had generally contributed to the Branch activities. Nationally he had been very active within the BCS and represented the BCS on the Engineering Council. The Branch would miss his contributions, in particular "his wit and humour" at Branch meetings.

There being no further business the AGM was closed at 20:08.

After this, Charles Hughes, Deputy President of the BCS gave an interesting talk on Professionalism in the IT Industry.

Brian Day, BSc PhD CEng CSci MBCS CITP Branch Secretary Oxfordshire Branch